Landlords do not have the right to expel tenants whenever they wish to, if you abide by state laws and regulations, as well as the rent lease. The first step of eviction is termination of the lease agreement, if the rent is continuously not being paid, illegal acts are committed on the property, other tenants feel harassed or the property is damaged in any way, according to an article on Legal Line.
In fact, in an official survey of 500 landlords, it was found that 7% of them had to evict tenants. However, the landlord needs to follow a series of legal procedures and send an official notice to end the tenancy. If you are looking to rent, know these reasons why the landlord can legally ask you to vacate.
1. Owner Move-In
The landlord has the right to take back possession of the house permanently. If the landlord wishes to move into the house themselves, they can evict the tenant. Also, if an immediate family member wishes to stay, the current tenant must leave the property. However, the landlord should be ready to pay for the relocation cost in some cases or wait for the school year of children to get over. Additionally, they might need to offer two months’ notice period to help the tenant hunt for alternate accommodation.
2. Drug Related Activities
Using, selling, keeping, manufacturing and trafficking controlled substances in the property can get you expelled immediately. It could be narcotics, like heroin and cocaine, or unsafe industrial chemicals. In Tennessee, if it is a first time possession, it could be punishable by up to one year in prison, although if it is just half an ounce, one could be charged with felony, according to an article on FindLaw. Apart from expulsion from the property, the landlord can also get your arrested, leading to probation, fine and community service.
3. Health & Safety
The property could be subjected to lead paint hazards, damp and mold growth, excessive cold or heat, poor sanitation and electrical issues, which need to be attended to. If the issues have been detected, the landlord can ask you to shift out. This way, they can carry out repair work and ensure safety and a healthy environment. While in New Jersey, three months’ notice is mandatory, in Tennessee, it is just 14 days. Therefore, you must be fully aware of the state laws when the eviction notice is being filed against you.
4. Lease Terms Violation
As the tenant, you need to comply with the terms and conditions put down in the lease agreement. The common issues are over-crowding the property, not maintaining the premises well, having pets when they are strictly not allowed, using the residential property for business purpose or engaging in subletting without approval. In fact, tenants often indulge in loud house parties, which could hamper the peace of the neighbors. If these behaviors are not checked within 30 days at the most, the landlord can initiate eviction.
5. Property Off the Market
If your landlord wishes to withdraw the property from the rental market, they have the right to evict you. However, they must notify you at least 3-4 months in advance. Additionally, they owe you relocation costs and must wait till your lease has officially expired. Before signing any lease agreement, go through the document carefully. The owner must have a plan to keep it from being rented out for at least 10 years, if not more. For this kind of eviction, the rules differ from state to state.
In all, the landlord has full rights to evict you for legitimate reasons. Make sure to check the local laws to know if they are permitted or applicable in your area.